Billy Gilmour and Hakim Ziyech return, but Jorginho is given a breather as Chelsea prepare to take on Manchester City at the Etihad.

Thomas Tuchel has made five changes to the side that beat Real Madrid 2-0 in the Champions League earlier this week as Chelsea get set to lock horns with Manchester City in a Premier League clash at the Etihad.

There are no shuffles whatsoever in goal, with Edouard Mendy retaining his spot ahead of Kepa Arrizabalaga. Thiago Silva is rested, as expected, with Chelsea captain Cesar Azpilicueta dropping into the three-man central defensive unit, where he has Andreas Christensen and Luis Suarez for company.

The midfield also sees a major change, with Billy Gilmour coming in for Jorginho, partnering N’Golo Kante in the middle of the park. The wing-back pairing has an entirely new look, with Reece James and Marcos Alonso returning to the starting lineup.

Finally, the attacking unit sees a couple of changes as well, with Kai Havertz and Mason Mount missing out. Hakim Ziyech and Christian Pulisic return, with Timo Werner the only Chelsea forward to retain his spot in the side. Interestingly, Mount, like Silva, is not a part of the matchday squad.

Chelsea Starting Lineup: Mendy, Azpilicueta, Christensen, Rudiger, James, Gilmour, Kante, Alonso, Ziyech, Werner, Pulisic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

I agree to the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.


Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.