N’Golo Kante returns to the starting lineup while Mason Mount is fit to start for Chelsea ahead of their Premier League fixture against Liverpool at Stamford Bridge.

Frank Lampard has made two changes to the side that was beaten by Valencia at home in the UEFA Champions League as Chelsea get set to play hosts to Premier League leaders Liverpool at Stamford Bridge.

There is no looking past Kepa Arrizabalaga in the Chelsea goal despite his recent downturn in form. The defence, however, sees a couple of shuffles and a change in system. Lampard has reverted to the 4-3-3 formation as expected and Kurt Zouma has had to make way as a result.

Fikayo Tomori and Andreas Christensen thus, comprise the central defensive partnership, with Chelsea captain Cesar Azpilicueta starting as the right-back. On the opposite flank, the fit-again Emerson Palmieri has come in for Marcos Alonso.

Zouma’s vacant space has been taken up by N’Golo Kante, another player who has regained match fitness. Kante starts in the three-man midfield unit, with Jorginho and Mateo Kovacic accompanying him. Another big news for Chelsea ahead of the kick-off against Liverpool is the fitness of Mason Mount.

Mount is fit enough to make the starting lineup, with the attacking trio remaining unchanged. Willian and Tammy Abraham, therefore, complete the lineup, with Christian Pulisic on the bench once again.

Chelsea Starting XI: Kepa; Azpilicueta, Tomori, Christensen, Emerson; Kante, Jorginho, Kovacic; Willian, Abraham, Mount

Comments 2

  1. Colin scott says:

    Zouma in for Azpilicueta, mount to take Jorginho position, Pulisic on the wing, this to me is a far stronger side.

  2. Oduma joseph says:

    Chelsea is mi team at any cost. On agud day pool may suffer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

I agree to the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.


Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.