Sadio Mane and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain start, as Jurgen Klopp makes five changes to the side that beat Norwich City ahead of the UEFA Super Cup tie against Chelsea.

The first European trophy of the season is up for grabs, and Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp has rung in the changes for his team’s clash with Chelsea. The Reds’ boss has made as many as five alterations to his most recent side, with the changes starting right at the back.

Summer signing Adrian makes his full debut for Liverpool, replacing the injured Alisson in goal. In defence, there is one change, with Joel Matip coming in for Trent Alexander-Arnold. Matip partners Virgil van Dijk at the heart of the Liverpool defence, meaning Joe Gomez will be the right-back, with Andrew Robertson keeping his place on the opposite flank.

Up ahead in midfield, Georginio Wijnaldum has dropped out, with James Milner taking his place. The veteran Englishman will partner Fabinho and Liverpool captain in the midfield trifecta. But, the most notable changes and omissions come in attack.

Roberto Firmino surprisingly not making the starting lineup, perhaps to take some load off ahead of this weekend’s league game.The Liverpool attack to face Chelsea sees Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain start, with Sadio Mane coming in as well, to possibly be the striker for the Reds. The team is completed by Mohamed Salah.

Confirmed Liverpool XI vs Chelsea: Adrian; Gomez, Matip, van Dijk, Robertson; Henderson, Fabinho, Milner; Salah, Mane, Oxlade-Chamberlain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

I agree to the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.


Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.