Dani Ceballos and Nicolas Pepe return, but Bukayo Saka misses out as Arsenal prepare to welcome Liverpool at the Emirates.

Mikel Arteta has made four changes to the side that was held to a 3-3 draw by West Ham United last time out in the Premier League as Arsenal get set to play hosts to Liverpool at the Emirates. There are no shuffles in goal, where Bernd Leno is the undisputed starter.

Half of the changes come in defence, where Rob Holding and Gabriel Magalhaes replace David Luiz and Pablo Mari to form the central defensive partnership. Out wide, Calum Chambers starts as a right-back again ahead of Hector Bellerin, with Kieran Tierney retaining his spot on the left flank.

Up ahead in midfield, Granit Xhaka has been unable to recover in time to make the starting lineup. In his stead, Dani Ceballos comes into the double pivot, where he will have Thomas Partey as his partner. Like Xhaka, Bukayo Saka and Emile Smith Rowe have been unable to prove his fitness.

In Smith Rowe’s absence, Martin Odegaard remains the preferred choice to reprise the no. 10 role, while Saka has been replaced by Nicolas Pepe. On the left wing, Arsenal captain Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang keeps hold of his spot, while Alexandre Lacazette will lead the line against Liverpool for the Gunners.

Arsenal Starting Lineup: Leno, Chambers, Holding, Gabriel, Tierney, Partey, Ceballos, Pepe, Odegaard, Aubameyang, Lacazette

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

I agree to the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.


Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.